Quick Links

Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Main Navigation



Ajax Loading Image


OHS Band Seats Twelve in District Band

Twelve members of the Olney High School Band were selected to participate in the Texas Music Educators Association Region 7 North Zone A-AA-AAA District Band.  Tryouts were held Saturday, November 5 at Holliday High School. Students selected to the band include sophomore Baylee Young – piccolo (2nd chair), freshmen Arianna Esparza – flute (1st chair) and Jesus Mendoza – oboe (1st chair).  Juniors Brandon Robertson – oboe (3rd chair) and Brynna Ogle – bassoon (1st chair) were also selected, as was senior Amber McCutcheon – 16th chair Bb clarinet. Jenny Ford was named 1st chair bass clarinet, and Olivia Brandt, junior, was picked first chair contrabass clarinet. Other POOHS selected for the honor band were sophomore Michael Liming –trombone (1st chair), junior Erik Cuba -  (2nd chair), junior Hunter Simmons – 1st chair string bass, and sophomore Melanie Allen – 8th chair in the percussion section. Alternates to the band include seniors Marisol Marquez, piccolo, Chris Sloan, oboe, and junior Tristen Belyeu, trumpet.  They were selected first alternate in their respective sections. Hayley Ondricek, junior, was named second alternate on trumpet. Auditions were judged on performances of the ATSSB All-State Band music. Judges included area band directors. Students selected for the All-District Band will attend a clinic and perform on Saturday, January 28, 2017 at Wichita Falls High School.  Clinician and conductor for the group will be Brian Youngblood of Texas Christian University.

Olney ISD809 Hamilton StreetOlney, TX  76374

p. 940.564.3519f. 940.564.5205

Sign up for the News Update.

Back To Top